Posted by: thezedword | June 13, 2010

Well, that explains a lot

Last week, 6-year-old Max wouldn’t put his face in the water.  Though I told him repeatedly to put his eyes down, he’d only look down, doing his damnedest to keep his face out of the water.  Then, when I told him to move his hands as slow as possible, he did just that, advancing his arms through his stroke slower than I thought capable.  I asked him what he was doing, and he said, with a straight face, “Moving my hands as slow as I can.”

I asked his mom if he was a very literal child.  To illustrate how literal he can be, she told me about the funeral they went to last year.

As they walked in, 6-year-old Max asked, “Mom, where’s the dead guy?”

Mom replied, “Well, honey, he’s gone to heaven.”

A little surprised, Max said, “Well, shoot, are we late?”

Leave a Reply

Categories

